Words for 2014

January 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

Happy New Year! For celebrating the solar new year January 1, this is slightly tardy. However the saving grace for we who like to celebrate often is the lunar new year which falls on January 31 this year. Either way, the year is still new.

With each new year I like to choose a word, or words, that will embody my intended feeling for the year. I often do this for a new day or week as well, it’s a great way to keep your vision clear in your mind. In 2012 the energy I felt for the year was BOLD! In 2013 a number of words came forth including Resourceful and Resilient. Once I found my word(s), or once they found me, I would choose a font and colour that felt appropriate and print them out for display beside my desk in a beautiful frame that I love.

If you choose to do this for yourself this year, choose a frame that works for you, that grabs your attention or fades back and puts the words in the foreground, the point is that it speaks to you and fits your vision. You may choose a different frame next year, you may use the same one. There are no rules for this, it is your choice. If what I chose to do sounds good to you feel free to follow along. If it elicits strong feelings that you want something different from what I did, follow that. Your path is your own, it only makes sense that the sights you see along your path are also of your choosing.

So, what happened in 2014? Well two words came up to me, stared intently into my eyes and insisted that they were my words for this year. I agreed and off we set. The first word is Serendipity. Not one I accepted unquestioningly, but after reading the definition I understood why it demanded to be recognized this year. It refers to making fortuitous or fortunate discoveries by accident. Finding the silver lining you didn’t know you were looking for, in a way. I extended that definition to include finding something beneficial by first making a mistake. I like to think that the benefit of serendipity kind of requires me to make mistakes, since that frees me from the yoke of unattainable perfection that holds many of us from the beauty and joy we seek.

The second word that found me came only seconds later… Peace. I think of it as being at peace with making mistakes and finding peace in recognizing the opportunities that serendipity presents.

I know I’m stretching the definitions a bit, but that’s the wonderful thing about choosing your own words for your year, it doesn’t matter so much what the dictionary says they mean, it matters what feeling they evoke for you. So take your time to find your words, sit with them and see how you feel. Once you find your word for 2014, I encourage you to print it out or write it in your own hand, using lettering and colours that have meaning for you. Then put it somewhere you will see it often, more than one place if you like, and enjoy the view as you move along your path this year.

Here’s to making 2014 the year for trying lots of new things, exploring ideas, pushing boundaries, making lots of mistakes and recognizing those wonderful moments of serendipity when they happen.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Words for 2014 at Th'Ink Well.

meta

